Jean-Bernard Fourtillan’s incredible interview with James Parkinson and Alois Alzheimer (part 2)

Letter from Pr Henri Joyeux no 144

After the detailed presentation, by James Parkinson and Alois Alzheimer themselves, of the diseases named after them, here is a second fictional interview conducted by James and Alois. They talk to Professor Jean-Bernard Fourtillan, who discovered the sleep hormone and sleep-wake regulation.

Second interview

Once again Pr Jean-Bernard Fourtillan answers the questions of James Parkinson and Alois Alzheimer. He explains how the contribution of the 3 hormones, Melatonin (MLT), 6-Methoxyharmalan (6-MH) and Valentonin (VLT), can be effective when they are insufficiently secreted by the pineal gland. 

Firstly, beyond the clinical sleep disorders and other symptoms characteristic of the diseases, it is important to measure the plasma concentration of Melatonin, the marker of the intensity of the secretions of the 3 hormones by the pineal gland, via a simple blood sample taken from 1am, i.e. 3 hours after bedtime. The result of this analysis and the clinical examination of the patient will determine whether a hormone replacement therapy is required. This therapy shall consist of simultaneously administering, at bedtime, 3mg of MLT by mouth and a dual-compartment transdermal patch, capable of releasing 100 microgrammes of 6-MH and 400 microgrammes of VLT in the body.

The patches, eagerly awaited by the general public, are currently in production. They will be made available to patients from the summer of 2017.

Read more

[/vc_column_text][/vc_column][/vc_row]

L’incroyable interview de Jean-Bernard Fourtillan par James Parkinson et Aloïs Alzheimer (2ème partie)

Lettre n° 144 du Pr Henri Joyeux

Après la présentation détaillée, par James Parkinson et Aloïs Alzheimer eux mêmes, des maladies qui portent leur nom, voici un deuxième interview fictif mené par James et Aloïs. Ils interrogent le Professeur Jean-Bernard Fourtillan qui a découvert l’hormone du sommeil et la régulation veille-sommeil.

Deuxième interview

Le  Pr Jean-Bernard Fourtillan répond à nouveau à James Parkinson et Aloïs Alzheimer. Il explique comment l’apport des 3 hormones, la Mélatonine (MLT), le 6-Méthoxy-Harmalan (6-MH) et la Valentonine (VLT), peut être efficace quand elles sont insuffisamment sécrétées par la glande pinéale. 

Il faut d’abord, au delà des troubles cliniques du sommeil et des autres symptômes typiques des maladies, mesurer par une simple prise de sang, prélevé à partir de 1 h du matin, soit 3 heures après le coucher, la concentration plasmatique de Mélatonine, marqueur de l’intensité des sécrétions des 3 hormones par la glande pinéale. Le résultat de cette analyse et l’examen clinique du malade, permettront de savoir si un traitement hormonal substitutif doit être mis en œuvre. Il consistera à administrer simultanément, le soir, au coucher, 3 mg de MLT, par voie orale, et un patch transdermique à 2 réservoirs, capable de délivrer, dans l’organisme, 100 microgrammes de 6-MH et 400 microgrammes de VLT.

Les patchs, très attendus du grand public, sont actuellement encours de fabrication. Ils seront à la disposition des malades à partir de l’été 2017.

Pour en savoir plus